VCU: Pre-Medical/Basic Health Sciences Certificate in Physiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

askadds

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does any1 have any information on this program? How hard is to get acceptance to the program? BTW, im a predent student with a 3.0gpa (bio degree) and dat: 18, 20, 17.

I'm really considering this program and if anyone has any info, I would greatly appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

i'm in their program right now. unfortunately, they don't post what the stats are for admitted students, but i have friends that had 3.0s who got in (some people below a 3.0 were also admitted, sometimes on a probationary basis). some of the concentrations are easier to get into than others. anatomy's the hardest, physiology seems to be the second hardest, and i know that biochem is a little more slack.
PM me if you have any more questions about the specific programs, classes, etc. i'd be happy to help

Does any1 have any information on this program? How hard is to get acceptance to the program? BTW, im a predent student with a 3.0gpa (bio degree) and dat: 18, 20, 17.

I'm really considering this program and if anyone has any info, I would greatly appreciate it.

I did the program last year. I am in med school at MCV now. I know a lot about the program and also about MCV admissions. PM me if you have questions.

In terms of admissions to the Post-bac Cert program it is really very easy to get in. Generally they want above a 2.8 and 24 MCAT (or I'm sure the equivalent score in DAT) so you should have no problem getting into one of the programs, especially biochem.

Anatomy and phys are a bit harder than Biochem to get into and those programs definately do more for you in terms of mentoring. I did biochem and got into med school.