Useful apps for med students and residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

juliagoulia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to compose a list of useful apps for android and Iphone/Ipad devices that might be useful for med students and residents. There is a thread already for iPad but can't find one for android. Anyway I will start with some good ones I think are more innovative than versions of med calculators etc that already exist for free on epocrates.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=appinventor.ai_norasfinchs.Version_18&hl=en

This one is an abdominal pain algorithm app I found and downloaded to my Evo, and I actually found it somewhat helpful. Its pretty simple and not flashy (could use a better icon!) but I think its helpful, just wish they had some specific for chest pain or syncope etc. I am a medicine intern now so it works great on the floors to stratify my pts with c/o abdominal pain (like every 5th admission or so) and narrow my differential pretty significantly. It basically walks u through a series of questions and leads you through basic hx PE findings and then offers key lists of labs and imaging to consider also has the critical dx's on there that u do not want to forget about or miss . As I went through the decision tree I actually have honed my workflow more instead of the old " platinum package of rainbow labs, pan-scanning the pt and just :xf: and hope to find something-->which it seems like the routine its easy to fall into when pressed for time and don't feel like thinking too hard:idea: (unless you want to be a consultologist when you grow up:laugh:).

Members don't see this ad.

'Orthopedic OSCE' app available on app store, google play and windows app store.