US vs Taiwan healthcare system

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which country has the best healthcare system?

• Total voters

doctorpanda

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a family medicine resident in Taiwan. I'm interested in the differences between the healthcare systems in the US and Taiwan. Taiwan is known for it's universal health insurance system and that posts a lot of problems alongside the benefits.
Since I will be writing about the Taiwan healthcare system in San Diego this August, I would like to meet doctors or medical students who are also interested in this topic around the area. If you would like to have some free discussion about the healthcare systems, feel free to contact me! I hope that with more understanding we can find the best solution to the healthcare world :)

Members don't see this ad.

You're posting in a solely US/Canada forum with a few IMGs whose goal is to study in the US. Talk about a conflict of interest.
Some thing I really won't ever understand is why Taiwanese society white worship so much. Literally you have TV shows in your country celebrating specifically racially driven relationships disguised as "progress".

http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/07256860903477704 <-- this article here is just one of the many that discusses east asian countries that are "westernized" and the problems in that society.
I know I'm hijacking your thread, but unless I see any actual progress addressing your question (which I don't see happening unless a Taiwanese American medical doctor/student has been to both hospitals instead of reading something online) I'm just going to go with it.