Undergrad Plan - I need your help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KC2525

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thank you in advance for your time; it's greatly appreciated!
My dilemma is that I'm not going to have any assistance paying for my cost of living or tuition throughout my journey to become a doctor. Many have said, "Just take out loans! You'll be a hotshot doctor; med school will be pennies!" but with today's average debt soaring, the thought of $250-$500k in loans is egregious (cant forget about the interest acurring throughout school!).

I am a 20-year-old non-trad student and Ive already finished my English pre-reqs and taken a few 'elective' classes. This fall semester I'll be starting my intro chemistry class and finishing last math class. So, I'm only three terms in taking about 12 credits each term maintaing a 3.9 Gpa.

I want to get some perpective on my plan and figure out if my solution is viable.
Here it is: I'm working in an extremely profitable sales position where I'm only required to work ~30-35 hours a week. If I were to work all the way until matriculation to medical school, I would be able to save enough money to cover my entire tution and cost of living.
However, in order to work, do extracurriculars, and maintain my GPA above a 3.8, I predict I'll only be able to take three classes (about 12 credits) at most per semester and in doing so I would spend six years on my undergraduate.

Would it be wise to just quit my job and take out loans in order to graduate quicker with a larger courseload, or would it be more beneficial to graduate med school with $0 in loans and some money in the bank? Or would I not even be able to matriculate if I only took 12 credits a semester for six years?

Any advice or alternative plan would be extremely helpful!
Again, thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
you're a non-trad why?

you're a non-trad why?