UK MBBS holder looking to skill up on USMLE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tresante

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I'm a UK MBBS graduate with 5 years of NHS experience. I came out to the US 4 years ago and transitioned to a career in consulting. It's gone well and I'm earning good money but I really miss clinical medicine and hate the thought of losing my knowledge.

I know that as a foreign graduate it's hard to get a US residency, etc but all those concerns aside, I'd like to gradually start preparing for the USMLEs in my spare time so I can open up the option of returning to practice or at the very least refresh my knowledge.

I'm now 10 years out of medical school. Does anyone have any advice on some good ways to start preparing, especially along side a full-time job? Are there any materials that are particularly helpful? Are there any iPad/Android apps that people strongly recommend? Should I focus initially just on Step 1 or also look at Step 2?

Any advice greatly appreciated!
Cheers!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey folks,

I'm a UK MBBS graduate with 5 years of NHS experience. I came out to the US 4 years ago and transitioned to a career in consulting. It's gone well and I'm earning good money but I really miss clinical medicine and hate the thought of losing my knowledge.

I know that as a foreign graduate it's hard to get a US residency, etc but all those concerns aside, I'd like to gradually start preparing for the USMLEs in my spare time so I can open up the option of returning to practice or at the very least refresh my knowledge.

I'm now 10 years out of medical school. Does anyone have any advice on some good ways to start preparing, especially along side a full-time job? Are there any materials that are particularly helpful? Are there any iPad/Android apps that people strongly recommend? Should I focus initially just on Step 1 or also look at Step 2?