UIC Chicago vs. Dartmouth (Geisel)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whataremychancetherapper

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm an Illinois resident looking at choosing between UIC and Geisel.

Geisel
Pros
  • Better ranked program, easier to stand out since Geisel is the only medical school in the area
  • Superior training

Cons
  • Hanover is pretty but it obviously isn't Chicago. Very far from home.
  • Will be more expensive. Looking at something like $5-9k more per year. How big of a difference is that?

UIC Chicago
Pros
  • Close to home and in Chicago, which is obviously a livelier area than Hanover
  • Somewhat cheaper

Cons
  • Lower ranked program
  • In my (admittedly novice) estimation, it seems like standing out in Chicago is much harder since there are so many medical schools in the area, and UIC-Chicago is probably in the middle of that pack. I don't know if my estimation is true or not, though

Summary: Geisel is a better program but is more expensive (how significant?) and Chicago is closer to home/a nicer location.

Members don't see this ad.

5-9k a year is insignificant and will be easy to pay off once your attending salary is 200k minimum +. Go where you would be most happy. Dartmouth looks like the best choice to me.

Hi all,

I'm an Illinois resident looking at choosing between UIC and Geisel.

Geisel
Pros
  • Better ranked program, easier to stand out since Geisel is the only medical school in the area
  • Superior training

Cons
  • Hanover is pretty but it obviously isn't Chicago. Very far from home.
  • Will be more expensive. Looking at something like $5-9k more per year. How big of a difference is that?

UIC Chicago
Pros
  • Close to home and in Chicago, which is obviously a livelier area than Hanover
  • Somewhat cheaper

Cons
  • Lower ranked program