U Chicago Level 1 Trauma Center - how will it affect Chicago EM residencies?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Panipuriallday

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I'm a student at a US MD school that's super interested in EM, and Chicago is a city that seems to be a great spot for an EM residency. I know for a while now U Chicago, which is located near the South Side, refrained having a level 1 trauma center to avoid trauma overload and subsequent financial collapse, and so trauma patients would end up getting turfed to Northwestern, John Stroger, Advocate Health Care, etc., but now that they're building a brand spanking new ED and Level 1 Trauma center, how will that affect the trauma training at places like Northwestern or John Stroger? Will U Chicago pretty much be getting all the trauma patients now? I'd love to get some insight from anyone who's in Chicago and would know first hand what's going to happen in terms of trauma patient distribution in Chicago, and if that's going to affect the quality of residency at places like Northwestern & John Stroger, that usually tout their trauma volume as one of their biggest hallmarks.

I personally want to train at a place that receives a significant trauma volume, which is why I'm asking. Thank you for your insight!

Members don't see this ad.

Cook County and Advocate Christ will likely see their volumes go down however they'll still be very busy compared to the average US trauma center.

If you're looking for high trauma volume I'd stay away from Northwestern since they only rotate at Cook County for 7 weeks and what little you do see at NMH will now be even less now that UC has their new trauma center.