USMLE Tutoring?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

awkko

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone had experience working with a tutor for USMLE Step 1? Is it worth it, who/what company did you work with, and what's the average cost?

Members don't see this ad.

Has anyone had experience working with a tutor for USMLE Step 1? Is it worth it, who/what company did you work with, and what's the average cost?
Hello,
I work as a tutor for USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK. I started with Med School Tutors (which is the biggest of the companies, also one of the most expensive), then branched out to form my own company: www.medboardtutors.com. We provide one-on-one tutoring via Skype or Google Hangouts, and prepare custom study plans for our students.

My point of view on this: It's worth it, for sure. Your tutor should be someone who has a mastery of the content topics along with a mastery of how the USMLE likes to ask questions about such topics. Tutors should impart such test-taking skills to you. If you struggle with content, a tutor can teach it, and get you from failing to passing. If you are already passing but are looking to get from mid-200s up to the 230-240 or higher range, a tutor can work directly with you on question-based analysis, multiple-logic-step questions, and test-taking tips to help you extend your capability.

The biggest tutoring companies charge anywhere from $250-400/hr (examples: Med School Tutors and Select Med Tutors). I think this is excessive. Through MedBoardTutors, we charge $120-150/hr depending on how many hours you purchase. I would not recommend going with any tutor who charges less than $100/hr; you want to be sure you're getting a valuable service, as your Step experience plays a major role in your future earnings and happiness with your matched specialty.