trouble reading English Medical books

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Angilica

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I study medicine in Arabic and I plan to start preparing for USMLE , I am in my 2nd year.
I decided to start reading medical books like ""basic histology"" and ""lingman's Embryology"" and I find them really really hard!
I planned to study from the ""medical terminology"" book but have no time.
I only can read 2 pages each hour! I use electronic dictionary but I am sick of it!
any one faced such a problem here? any advices on books or method of reading?
:luck:

Members don't see this ad.

It is absolutely going to be hard.

I recommend you start with simple books like: Biology(CampBell), Anatomy&physiology(Tortora), Microbiology(Burton), Immunology(Nairn). I recommend them for 2 reasons: 1. digestable basic science 2. simple language.

Embryo & Histo: Personally, I don't find them good choices at all. Embryo is very hard to digest, and textooks of basic histo usually don't include much to read as text, not mentioning the complexity of histo.

two hours for 1 page sounds quite reasonable as a start.

Wish u luck and don't hesitate to inquire about further issues.

hi how r u ?
i am studying md in arabic
its hard to read books in english last year i started to read in english
like u said im facing the same proplem and i want advice

Members don't see this ad :)
I study medicine in Arabic and I plan to start preparing for USMLE , I am in my 2nd year.
I decided to start reading medical books like ""basic histology"" and ""lingman's Embryology"" and I find them really really hard!
I planned to study from the ""medical terminology"" book but have no time.
I only can read 2 pages each hour! I use electronic dictionary but I am sick of it!
any one faced such a problem here? any advices on books or method of reading?