Trends in Private Practice Podiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MicroPod

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been reading through the forums for quite a while, but this is my first time posting. I wanted to see if I could get some opinions/experiences from current Podiatrists in private practice.

I personally know three podiatrists (they make up a pod group), and they have expressed the opinion that the "government" is making it increasingly harder and less profitable to be in private practice. For example, one of the podiatrists told me that he makes 40% less than what he used to make about 15 years ago. I have also seen the struggle between them and the insurance companies. In many cases, it is the insurance company, and not the doctor deciding what can and cannot be done for a patient (unless they want to pay out of pocket, which many people do not).

These guys still make a very good living, so it is not like it is the end of the world for them or anything like that. I guess the questions I am asking are:

1. Will the trend of decreased compensation for podiatrists (and other healthcare practitioners) continue?

2. Will the trend of increasing insurance companies presence in treating patients continue?

Members don't see this ad.

I closed my office and moved my family to become an employee, due to regulations and changing business landscape that accompanies these regulations. Regulations and factors to consider
1. Student debt and business startup costs are much higher than 10 years ago and dramatically higher than 20 years ago. Which means you cannot take out the equivalent of a fancy car loan to start up a practice. Its big money to put up while waiting for your practice to "build".