Votes: 0 0.0%
  • PEDS

Votes: 2 100.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

heranatomy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm a minor and a freshman in highschool. i know its early to be wondering what i'll be wanting to do in the next 8 years but i want to be prepared. I know what trauma surgery is but i need a clear understanding. and i'm choosing between general surgery and trauma. what do i need to do or be prepared to accomplish both of those. like what college do i need to work hard to get in? my grades aren't perfect but i'm trying to bring them up and i will. can anyone please help me and give me advice?

Members don't see this ad.

i'm a minor and a freshman in highschool. i know its early to be wondering what i'll be wanting to do in the next 8 years but i want to be prepared. I know what trauma surgery is but i need a clear understanding. and i'm choosing between general surgery and trauma. what do i need to do or be prepared to accomplish both of those. like what college do i need to work hard to get in? my grades aren't perfect but i'm trying to bring them up and i will. can anyone please help me and give me advice?
You don't "major" in anything. You are probably 10-12 years away from choosing an area of medicine to specialize in. Relax. Enjoy high school. Get good grades. Go to college. Get good grades. Get into med school. And in your 3rd and 4th year you can worry about this stuff.

Reactions: 1 user
You don't actually know what trauma surgery is, since you just said "I'm choosing between general surgery and trauma." You can't choose--trauma is a subspecialty of general surgery, and a gensurg residency is required.
Also, you're a high school freshman, you don't need to decide until you're in college IF you want to go to med school at all. In the meantime, getting good grades and working toward getting into a good college is what you need to do. Everything else will come with time.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)