Tonsillolith speculation....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

art456

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I ran across this forum while researching tonsilloliths online.

From what I have found, tonsilloliths seem to be poorly understood and I have a hypothesis regarding them.

Let me state at the outset that I am a layman, and I AM NOT SEEKING MEDICAL ADVICE. Rather, I want to foster some discussion because I think tonsilloliths might be misunderstood and if my hypothesis about their formation is correct, it may help doctors treat them.

There have been a number of threads on this forum regarding the topic before and I encourage any readers of this thread to read them.

Unfortunately, the other threads seem to get shut down due to writers crossing the line regarding medical advice, so please try to avoid that on this thread.

Given that I am a layman, I plan to stay out of the discussion after starting this thread unless someone has something they want to ask me.

What interested me in the topic is that I have had tonsilloliths for some time. I've mentioned them to doctors when getting exams and no doctor has expressed any familiarity with their cause.

While I must apologize in advance for the length of this post, I think it might be helpful to present the reader with an account of my case prior to offering up my hypothesis.

The first time I noticed them was 19 years ago at the age of 25 when I hacked a couple up. I didn't know what they were and after puzzling over them for a while, I washed them down the sink and didn't think about them for about 10 years.