To PT or not to PT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GOINGBALD42

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am in a dilemma, having a bit of trouble deciding on what I want to do with my life. So I graduated college awhile back with a Biology degree (4 to 5 years to be exact) and worked at various jobs inside and outside of healthcare. I was hoping during that "break" I would figure it out, but I am still in the same position. I just feel like after shadowing and working that work is work and to just find a career that I can tolerate. I used to think that you are suppose to love your job 24/7 and have a huge passion, but as I get older its like just choose a career that can provide and on your free time you can pursue your passion. Heck I have seen doctors as soon as its time they are the first to leave the clinic and are rushing to get out. The time to decide is up and I need to figure it out now. I am afraid that I will be in my 30s and still haven't figure it out, that is one of my fears. It is fast approaching.

My two career ideas currently have been physical therapy or nursing. Objectively speaking I think nursing is a great career choice, lots of room for growth, short schooling, low debt, make good money, great job market, reliable source of income, can do more schooling if I choose. Cons would be I don't know if I like the work, it is more of an indifferent feeling, however I can always go to more schooling in the future with nursing. Also being a nurse is not something where I exactly feel proud of, it is more of a whatever feeling.