Time for New Evaluations and Follow-Ups

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SomeDoc

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for some input regarding time for visits in community mental health. How many minutes are reasonable for new patient evaluations? What about follow-ups? My current schedule is 20 mins for follow-ups and 40 for new patient evaluations; it seems reasonable. The Medical Director (non psych MD) is pushing for 15 min follow-ups and 30 min new evals. It's just not sustainable IMO. When I was a resident, the CMHC had 30 mins for follow-up's, that seems like a luxury these days. Apparently, according to the director, providers at the CMHC in the area are seeing 30 patients a day. I can only imagine the quality of care these patients are getting if this is accurate.

I can't find any definitive data on pubmed or from official sources about how much time is adequate or recommended.

Members don't see this ad.

I think 15 min follow ups and 45 min new evals are the minimum acceptable. A lot depends in the severity of illness in your patient population and ancillary staff support. All the same, even with the "worried well" I will stick to the minimum times I mentioned for my own health and sanity. I'm not the equivalent of a psychiatric prescription dispensary machine that can see 30 patients a day. If it were sustainable primary care would be doing it and not referring these patients to me.

Do you get paid more for seeing more patients?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)

It's an assembly line, whether or not you're employed or a contractor, it all works out the same. The differences is how your business/contracts are set-up based on productivity.

I wouldn't trust a word the director says. 30 min new evals is impossible without significant liability issues. It is substandard in my opinion.