This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

saviordali

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 19 and a full time college student studying microbiology for my second year. I recently decided I am interested in going to medical school, but I have no real experience in the field and will definitely need to change that by the time I'm doing applications. I'm considering taking a course this summer to get my EMT certification, but I will be taking at least 2 other [online] summer GE classes and hopefully working ~25-40 hours a week. I most likely can't do a semester-long EMT program in fall or spring because I'm a full-time student already, so I found an accelerated online program over the summer with 2 4-day in-person skills workshops. It's through UCLA, so obviously not a sketchy degree mill type institution, but it is pretty expensive ($1100).

I'm really wondering if this is worthwhile. I read a previous post from a few years ago that strongly discouraged online EMT courses because they aren't viewed particularly well by employers. Also, is this a good option as a med school hopeful? Is work as an EMT seen any more favorably by schools or would I be just as well off working as a scribe or volunteering in a hospital, for example?

P.S. any advice for med school apps, good experiences to get/classes to take before applying, things to consider/potential alternatives, etc. are also appreciated :)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently an EMT and while I enjoy it and there's nothing wrong with being an EMT, I would say if you're just exploring the field to just volunteer at your local hospital/nursing home/etc. or shadow. That's a lot of money to spend, plus the others look essentially equal. Only be an EMT if you think it's something you would really enjoy, not just a way to get exposure.