This is my story - Cautionary Tale

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mariam webber

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all after reading many posts on this wonderful forum i have decided to share my story which should serve as a cautionary tale for many aspiring candidates. think before jumping.
it will be 5 years since i graduated with a AuD degree from #2 school (no need to name it as everyone knows). My jubilation has now turned into desperation and disappointment due to many reasons. Most importantly
#1 > Lack of growth
#2 > Impossible to move into other "healthcare" fields... or industry jobs outside audiology
#3> same mundane hearing aid testing role. GOD! i didnt know this is what i was reading for
#5> Salary in the dumps (stayed nearly flat since i started working)
#6> Coworkers in audiology are too boring and just happy with 9-5 job...growth is not they care about

points 1 and 2 are the most bothersome... I went around did a quick survey among recent AuD grads and found that of the 42 people who responded 35 people said : THEY WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS TRACK to anyone"!!!!!!!!!!!! and that they would have never signed up for this degree if they had done real research

what is most painful is that even for administration both/business jobs no one (recruiters or managers) have no clue how to value AuD degree! they would rather get a BA History or English or even NURSING person to be a Project Manager etc role... This i didnt see it coming...

I really wish all the potential candidates read this and many other notes on this forum and be VERY CAREFUL on their decision , AuD is doomed even if you get your degree from the top 10 institutes...