Thinking about residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chriskahn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
P3 here thinking about residency. I go to a decently ranked university that uses the pass/fail grading system with honors available in certain courses. I only have 1 honors in public health and emergency prep

I have been a student ambassador for 2 years (did interviews and orientation for new students)
Did a couple of volunteer immunization events (not part of IPPE)
I have 4 years pharmacy assistant experience, 3 months interning experience (had a baby so had to stop)
Did a couple of local drug take back events
No research or publications
Took obstetrics, diabetes management, ID, and Native American healthcare electives

Do I have a chance at all? I checked out the stats thread and it seems like almost everyone that matched has research experience or publications.

A few more questions

Since I have a kid, how much time does a residency usually require? If its more than 40hr/week I don't think I can do that for an entire year. I don't want to neglect my child.

How did people in residencies go about paying back their loans? Did you just make minimum payments the first year?

And finally, how beneficial was the residency? If you work in a hospital that requires a residency, how competitive was the hiring process?

Is it all worth it or am I wasting my time? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

P3 here thinking about residency. I go to a decently ranked university that uses the pass/fail grading system with honors available in certain courses. I only have 1 honors in public health and emergency prep

I have been a student ambassador for 2 years (did interviews and orientation for new students)
I have 4 years pharmacy assistant experience, 3 months interning experience (had a baby so had to stop)
Took obstetrics, diabetes management, ID, and Native American healthcare electives