Thinking about leaving DPT program for MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sbgee

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all - there have been a few posts on this topic but I haven't seen one recently. I'm a rising second-year DPT student and am seriously considering leaving to apply to PA or MD programs. The lack of rigor in I've seen in both PT education and the PT profession has made me doubtful that I'll find the job interesting in 5 years, if ever. After attending two different national conferences, I can't help but feel like PT is the five-year-old who wants a seat at the big kid table because now we have a "D" in front of our PT degree. APTA is pushing for PTs to expand our practice (into nutrition, annual PT checkups, etc.), but we don't even have a handle on our own best practices for treatments of conditions that do fall squarely in our field. A patient could go to 5 different PTs with knee pain and would get 5 different treatment plans. Chances are 4 of them would be successful, but how do we know what really works? There is certainly variability in medicine as well, but I'm afraid that the subjectivity in PT evaluation and treatment is just too much for me. In addition, so many of our treatments are fads that seem to have little effect beyond placebo (dry needling, kinesiotape, core stabilization, etc.) and do not lend themselves well to research, so it feels like we'll never truly get to the bottom of it.

Add to the above all of the other frustrations in PT (relatively low compensation for the cost of education, lack of upward mobility in the profession, high productivity expectations, limited scope of practice) and I'm wanting to run for the hills.

PTs - does it get better? Are you satisfied in your career? Would I be silly to throw away a spot in a DPT program to start all over again?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users