Where should I go for pre-med, UofM Ann Arbor or Eastern Michigan University?

• Eastern Michigan University (EMU)

Votes: 3 14.3%
  • The University of Michigan- Ann Arbor (UofM-A2)

Votes: 18 85.7%

• Total voters

thenor

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm a high school senior graduating from a middle college program with two years of community college credits. I have to decide between going to The University of Michigan-Ann Arbor and Eastern Michigan University for the fall of this year. If I go to either, I will spend two years there before graduating with a bachelor's degree. I am a pre-med student, and my dream has always been to go to medical school and become a doctor. I completed all of the prerequisite classes at the community college and they transfer to UofM Ann Arbor and Eastern.

If I go to Eastern, it will be nearly free as they gave me a full ride. While if I go to umich, I will need financial aid and I'll probably have to take out loans. It's good to keep in mind that I am considered in-state and I'm either majoring in neuroscience or biochemistry for my undergraduate degree. Both universities are close to home, about 15ish minutes- so I won't be living in the dorms for either university.

Here are the pros and cons:

Eastern Michigan University

PROS
money is a huge factor- full ride
easier to obtain leadership positions
I'll be a big fish in a small pond- it'll be easier to stand out
most definitely have a higher GPA
will have more time to focus on extracurriculars
my dad is the director of a school there, so he'll be able to connect me with opportunities
smaller class sizes- more personal

CONS
not a prestigious school
everyone who applies gets in
less research opportunities
no-name school

The University of Michigan Ann Arbor

PROS
prestigious university
more research opportunities
big name school
connected to a hospital (the university hospital)
more networking/ contacts
good backup in case med school doesn't work out