Medical The Struggles, Successes, and Strategies of the Medschool Monarchess

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Dehra McGuire…

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad? When did you graduate?

Dehra: I’m from Tulsa, Oklahoma. I majored in Microbiology with a minor in Classical Greek at The University of Oklahoma (BOOMER!) and graduated in 2014.

Accepted: Where are you currently attending med school? What year are you?

Dehra: I stayed at OU for medical school and started the fall after I graduated from undergrad. I’m currently an MS3.

Accepted: What drew you to OU? How did you know it was the right “fit” for you?

Dehra: I’m a third generation Sooner. My grandfather and both of my parents went there. I grew up watching OU football and my dad actually played for the football team back in the 80s. It just runs in the family at this point. The 5 year tuition waiver included in the National Merit Scholarship didn’t hurt, either. And because I graduated from undergrad in 4 years and stayed at OU for medical school, the fifth year of the tuition waiver was applied to my first year of med school.

So what drew me to OU was staying close to my family and my support system and knowing I’d graduate with a lot less debt than if I had gone out of state. Plus I still get student priced season football tickets.

Accepted: What have been the biggest challenges that you’ve faced as a med student so far? How have you overcome?