This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

songbird25

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I am an undergraduate student pursuing my degree in Health Management online through Northeastern University. I would like to one day get my MPH in Health Policy and Management, but since I'm taking my classes online I'm confused about what I'll do about my letters of recommendation. I plan to participate in a summer research opportunity where I will work with a professor at Rutgers University, and I also will pursue other relevant internships, but I think any letters from my NU professors will be weak. How important are academic vs. professional letters for this type of degree program? I'll appreciate any feedback at all. Thanks so much.
If it helps, I'm a diligent student with a >3.7 gpa and I plan to do my best in my coursework and in my professional experiences.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi songbird,

I applied for HPM programs for the Fall 2011 admissions cycle and I had two letters from professors and one from previous work experience (from 3 years ago). In the end, I think it is always good to have balance. In your case, since you will be fresh out of school, it may be good to try to get 2 academic and 1 professional letter. Ultimately, however, I think the most important factors are that the recommender knows you well, that he/she can speak to your interest in the field of public health, and that he/she can speak to skills that you have which will translate well to graduate school (writing, group work, etc). It's important that your recommender have some authority when they write the letter, in the sense that they actually know you and are not someone who you have met with or worked with only for a very fleeting period.