This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

riderfirnen

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore in high school, and I'm hoping to major in neuroscience as an undergraduate and hopefully, someday, I'd like to become a neurosurgeon. I was just recently diagnosed with type 1 diabetes and I wanted to get a medical alert tattoo on my wrist. Could this be a problem for me in the future? Obviously tattoos are frowned upon but I feel like if it's a medical alert tattoo it could be different?

Members don't see this ad.

There's a neurosurgery forum. This is the neurology forum. The first step to your career will be learning the difference.

Reactions: 1 users
There's a neurosurgery forum. This is the neurology forum. The first step to your career will be learning the difference.
I looked for a neurosurgery forum and a neuroscience forum but couldn't find either. I already know the difference but thanks for the sarcasm anyway.

Members don't see this ad :)
1. This is not the neurosurgery forum
2. http://health.usnews.com/health-new...to-know-before-getting-a-medical-alert-tattoo
3. If you do get one, don't use it as an opportunity to get a full forearm caduceus -- a brief google image search returns many examples that a) look more like a convenient excuse to get inked, and b) stand little to no chance of being recognized as a medical alert by a first responder

Tons of my young trauma patients have tattoos. I don't spend a lot of the golden hour poring over them to figure out whether the cute elephant holding up a sign that says "O-" is a reliable indicator of their blood type.

Reactions: 1 users
1. This is not the neurosurgery forum
2. http://health.usnews.com/health-new...to-know-before-getting-a-medical-alert-tattoo