Taking the MCAT early?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ADSigMel

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there has been some discussion on taking the MCAT early among the traditional college students. I'm a nontrad, though, finished undergrad in 2004 and law school in 2007. I've been practicing law for close to 9 years and have finally gotten up the nerve to pursue my passion, which has always been medicine. I just punked out in college, didn't think I could hack it, so didn't try. Now that I'm older and wiser, I figure I may as well not get any older before I take a chance at doing what I really want. I've got six pre-reqs to take before I can apply (Organic I and II, Gen Bio I and II, and Biochem I and II), which I'm planning to do over the next three semesters, finishing in Spring 2017. My question is whether it might make sense to ALSO study for the MCAT and take it this coming fall (after/during a semester each of Bio, Organic, and Biochem). If my MCAT isn't what it ought to be, I'll take it again next spring/summer with an eye toward taking a gap year. But if I do pretty well on it this fall, I can avoid the gap year and start med school the semester after I finish my pre-reqs, which would be nice.

Any advice? If it's important, I'm only applying to one medical school. I want to be a doctor, but I've got a husband and three kids who I'm not willing to uproot, especially considering that it's my husband's job that will have to feed us while I go back to school.

Members don't see this ad.