Switching from OBGYN to PM&R

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

It's not a tumor!

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,
I'm currently a 2nd year OBGYN resident, however I've come to realize that OBGYN doesn't fit me. I've decided that I will pursue my original goals and will be applying to PM&R residencies this cycle. However, the whole process seems daunting and I was hoping that there was someone here who has done what I'll be attempting and could give me some incite into their experience. What concerns me most is that I might not be the strongest candidate to begin with and on top of that, I'm switching residencies. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I applied straight to PM&R, so unfortunately I'm not someone who has gone through exactly what you're going through, but hopefully my advice may help.

The first thing to keep in mind is switching into PM&R is tough--there usually aren't many R (I think they're called R...) positions open (PGY2 positions open for the upcoming year, so that you wouldn't need to take a break between years). Thew few people I knew who switched into PM&R applied to every R position as well as tons of the normal advanced positions that are a year delayed, as well as come categorical (which would start right away as well, but you'd be re-doing an intern year and then start the PM&R part of your residency a year later).

That brings up another point--I believe a year in OB-Gyn does meet the criteria for internship for many PM&R programs, as I remember when I applied some programs specifically mentioned it did, but it's possible not all programs will accept it. My guess there is that the Board accepts it and some programs just want you to stick with the traditional pre-lim IM/surg/peds/TY programs. So you'll want to ask each program you apply to what their take is.