Surgical Oncology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

illixir

One
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a second year resident interested in Surg onc among other specialties. I want to get a sense of what surgical oncologists are doing at other people's institutions and what direction people think this specialty is headed. Surgeons are continuing to specialize in certain types of procedures, I find at my institution most of the colon cancers are being done by colorectal, pancreatic cancers by HPB, breast cancers by breast, thyroid by endocrine/ENT. All these fellowships do indirectly give exposure to non-surgical treatment of these cancers, and the surgeons with the best outcomes are those from the anatomically oriented specialties(at my institution). There may be these complex tumor cases that are fit for surg onc, but they are rare. I'm also not at the most academic place.

The surgical oncologists we do have: one does some cases that don't really fit a mold, melanoma/sarcoma cases, gastrectomies/esophagectomies(what he does most frequently), another does again some oddball cases and here and there the occasional colon, liver, gastrectomy, esophagectomy, whipple or adrenal. They also have less volume overall then the other specialties despite their breadth of surgical offerings.