Surgery during residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lemonlove

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I have been diagnosed with an anal fissure that is so severe that I am contemplating having surgery done. I am in my third year which is all outpatient but I am having a difficult time getting my program to give me vacation time in the near future. Right now I am so miserable that I am unable to focus on my work as I have to go to the restroom 5-6 times a day. I would like to get the the surgery done in the next week or two. The soonest my program is willing to give me vacation would be towards the begininng of September.

In these scenarios, is there any medical leave I can pursue/ask for? I don't want to put my program in a tough bind and I can see that some people may not think this is an urgent procedure.

Appreciate any advice. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
I have been diagnosed with an anal fissure that is so severe that I am contemplating having surgery done. I am in my third year which is all outpatient but I am having a difficult time getting my program to give me vacation time in the near future. Right now I am so miserable that I am unable to focus on my work as I have to go to the restroom 5-6 times a day. I would like to get the the surgery done in the next week or two. The soonest my program is willing to give me vacation would be towards the begininng of September.

In these scenarios, is there any medical leave I can pursue/ask for? I don't want to put my program in a tough bind and I can see that some people may not think this is an urgent procedure.

do you not have sick days?

do you not have sick days?

Yes I have sick days but I'm not sure if this something I can use them towards. Sick days are usually you get sick and can't come for a day then reutrn the next day.

Use your sick days. Otherwise FMLA might apply here?

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile