Surgeon in home country

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nankanbklyn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm a surgeon in my home country and plan to come to the US. I have obtained permanent status (permanent resident) so I don't need to apply for a visa. I completed my residency (outside US) directly after med school (outside US). I'm considering coming to the US, but the residency programs look extremely competitive. I have a few questions:
1. Will my age lessen my chances of getting into a program (I'm 32)?
2. Does the fact that I have already completed a residency in surgery make my application look better than others. Will that give me MUCH of an advantage over others??
3. Will I have to re-do an entire 5 year residency in surgery, or is there a way to "skip" some years.
4. What route do u recommend I take. In what order should/must I do things, in terms of residency, observership, fellowship, internship, externship, etc.

Any other tips/help welcome. ☺☺

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

1. Not really. 32 isn't that old for a resident in the US. Many students go to college from 18-21, then often take a year or a few to do research, another degree, etc. Then 4 years of medical school. That gets us to 27-28. So 32 isn't a problem. Plus when we look at applications, we screen birth date and age, so we can't tell how old you are. But there are other problems, see below.

2. It could help, or it could hurt. Some would say that because you already know what you're doing, it would be less work to train you. Others would say that perhaps you've learned bad habits / do things differently, and retraining you may be more work or impossible. Especially if you've been out practicing on your own -- it's hard to step back into "trainee mode".

3. Yes. You will get no credit for your prior training.