Suicide Risk Assessment Technique

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zephyrill

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I'm a psych intern and have lately had a couple suicide risk assessments where the patients would become visibly frustrated that I was called and ask for the interview to be cut short. Fortunately I was able to reach out to collateral in both cases to gather psychiatric, family, social, substance use history, etc., but the patients themselves both shut down after I had obtained an HPI. Both patients had expressed some vague passive SI, one after recently being involved in a MVC (question of whether the collision was intentional) and another after having to come back to the hospital following a complication related to quadriplegia.

Anyway, I was wondering if you guys have a particular style or way of introducing yourselves to patients when doing these risk assessments to facilitate information gathering and rapport building. In both cases, I introduced myself as the resident psychiatrist and explained the reason for consultation and was essentially asked to leave on the spot. I was a little taken aback since this has worked well for me in the past. Any tips from some seasoned vets?

Members don't see this ad.