Student Loans: Any Dave Ramsey Listeners on SDN?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

clinicallabguy

Larry N. Gology
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Since I graduated from college a month and a half ago, my new obsession has become to read up as much as I can on personal finance. I feel that up to this point I haven't had a good knowledge of essential stuff. My brother referred me to the Dave Ramsey show, and I have listened and read two of his books the past few weeks.

I really like his program, with one exception: He doesn't think that you should take out student loans. You should save for school, and if school is too much then you're going to a school you can't afford. I could see how that may be the case for undergrad, and wish that I had been able to do it without any debt. I definitely could have done it with MUCH less debt than I ended up with. But I don't think it is realistic for medical school. If you really wanted to get extreme and try it, I suppose that you could move to Texas for a few years, and work your butt off with several jobs to save up for medical school. But then you're putting all of your chances of getting in on a few cheap schools in Texas.

Just curious what you all think. Any Dave Ramsey fans out there? Do you think he is mistaken about student loans when it applies to medical school, or do you think that we all need to stop being spoiled brats and save cash for med school?

How long do you think it would take you to save enough cash to attend the cheapest medical school that you got admitted (or could get admitted) to? 2 years? 4 years? 10 years? It certainly wouldn't be a piece of cake.

Do you think that you would still go into the medical profession if you tried to save that long to avoid debt? Or, do you think that you would become distracted and never end up attending medical school?

Just curious.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user