Step 1 physiology resource for IMG (UK)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ugm12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. Just looking for recommendations for resources to learn physiology in prep for step 1. I'm an intern in the UK, so it has been a while since I studied physiology.

Any recommendations for comprehensive resources to learn phys for step 1?

Would Costanzo physiology be enough?

Many thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

All the physiology you need to know for NBME exams is in Uworld / FA. If you understand the basics, you can logic things out. That being said, rapid review phys is pretty good for concepts.

(I haven't done step yet, but about to in a week. Did 4 NBMEs and 2 uworlds though and physiology has not been an issue)

Ok thank you. Physiology is not taught well in UK medical schools. But you think I should be able to learn all the necessary phys just from UWorld and FA?

Members don't see this ad :)
You can an intern in the UK without having passed Step1? Not in the USA,,hmm
Hello everyone. Just looking for recommendations for resources to learn physiology in prep for step 1. I'm an intern in the UK, so it has been a while since I studied physiology.

Any recommendations for comprehensive resources to learn phys for step 1?

Would Costanzo physiology be enough?

Many thanks.

You can an intern in the UK without having passed Step1? Not in the USA,,hmm

Sorry I don't understand your comment. I'm a newly qualified doctor in the UK. Doing the english equivalent of an "intern". (we call it foundation year doctor over here) The US board "Step" exams obviously are not part of medical training in the UK.

I am an IMG, but not from the UK. Most IMGs use Kaplan physiology lecture note+videos/ BRS physiology. Costanzo is great, but I think it should be used only as reference for Step 1.