So how many others became Paramedics before Medical School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

COMedic2Doc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so just my own curiosity here. I actually advanced to being a Paramedic and worked for a few years as a Medic before applying to Medical School. As a curiosity solely, anyone else have a similar experience?

Members don't see this ad.

I was an EMT (not a paramedic). I worked as an ER Tech and a FF/EMT (and a county training officer, a technical rescue instructor, a pilot, a truck washer and several other weird jobs) before I decided to go to medical school. It was the job as an ER Tech that made me decide to go.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have been a Paramedic for 9 years, and I start medical school this fall...

Paramedic, now Anesthesiology resident (a good number of us over there). I had to officially quit my agency a few months back, as I never go home anymore. *sniff* No more free ambulance rides for me.

It does definitely interest me how many of us truly come from the Paramedic background for sure. Thanks for the replies, I really appreciate it! I've been in EMS for about 10 years, and am now in Iraq (which probably some of you already detected before) getting ready to come home in Decemberish and finish up my baccelor's and apply. We'll see where this goes. :D

paramedic turned anesthesia resident turned awesome.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Sorry to quasi-hijack this thread. It seems the vast majority of those with EMS background either end up in gas or EM (the 2 specialties I'm considering). EM I get, but what is it about gas that seems to draw in the EMS people?

If i had to take a guess, I would say intubating and pharmacology. However, there are plenty of gas folks on here who will give ya their input :)