SMP or PostBacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tar_heel

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm confused about whether a postbacc, SMP, or neither is best for my situation --

Current Stats:
cGPA = 3.38
sGPA = 3.06
MCAT = 30 (evenly distributed)
college senior, URM (Black/AA), Virginia resident, disadvantaged

I'm currently retaking the following classes:
Orgo I (original grade = C)
Orgo II (C)
Physics II (C-)

The issue is as follows: I am a transfer student. I attended a top-5 school for 1 semester, left for many reasons and took a gap year to work, then attended a community college for a year where I took Bio I,II and Chem I,II all with A's. When I transferred to my current university, I earned all/mostly C's in my science classes. I know this looks really bad, and I think I need an SMP or postbacc to prove that I can perform in classes. Hopefully in my last 2 semesters I'll be able to demonstrate that I can do well in coursework (I'm retaking classes now, and will take upper-level bio next semester).

I really want to attend med school in California (family ties, it's where I grew up, etc.) but have no MD/DO preference (I'm fairly certain I want to do primary care in ob/gyn). I grew up disadvantaged, and therefore have no savings to rely on paying for a postbacc (and no one to cosign on private loans), so I'm looking mainly at SMPs because I understand they can be financed through government loans. However, if I'm misunderstanding please let me know.

I basically need feedback as to whether I'm on the right track thinking that I need an SMP/postbacc work, and would also like to know what programs in particular (if any) I should be considering. I'm currently really interested in Western's MSMS, and BU MAMS (because of the option to do a second-year MPH).

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.