SLHS PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rayven

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all- *note: if you do not want to read all of this, the last two sections will tell you what my main question is.

Let me start off by giving you my background: I have recently graduated with a bachelor's degree in biology. As an undergraduate, I spend about 1 1/2 years in a research lab. The focus was molecular work (so biochemistry, cell culturing, making DNA constructs and using molecular techniques). During my final year as an undergrad, I realized that I was not very interested in such work as a career, and as I tried to decide if I should apply to graduate school for neuroscience ...I sort of psyched myself out. I felt extremely unsure and it felt forced.

5 months later, I am now in a NIH funded research program that allows me to be an apprentice scientist, and encourages my process of getting into a PhD program. At first, I wanted to do the since I more familiar with the research setting and it would give me a bit of time to feel more comfortable making decisions that affect my life; I was sort of lost before I got into this research program, but I knew I had to do it to help me figure out my career/job goals.

This program is great b/c you can work with any faculty member who is willing to take you on, and after 2 months of doing more molecular work, I knew I had to change labs. I Asked around and I realized that I needed to stay away from molecular labs (so they don't give me another molecular project) and that I needed to do something that directly relates to humans (such as collecting interesting data from people such as ERPs and how people respond to stuff). Finally, I switched into a psycholinguistics lab. I feel significantly better here and I feel hopeful about the directions I can go in.