This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which path should I take

• Total voters

Manders221

UMN c/o 2025
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time posting here, for the past month or so I've absorbed as much information from this forum as I can get my hands on. My mind is still jumbled and I could use the advice of people who have gone through the application process... so here goes my long post

Last year I attended state school for a BS in Animal Biology. I completed two semesters. In the beginning of the second semester I had some medical issues and ended up in the hospital. I missed over a week of school but I refused to withdraw or drop out. I ended the year with a cumulative 3.64 GPA. I decided at that point to continue school closer to home. I moved back in with my parents for the summer and got a job at an animal shelter as a veterinary assistant. I love it!! I do basically everything a tech does and I'm loving it. So I started school this fall for a AAS in Veterinary Technology.

It has been brought up to me several times that I should consider veterinary school. I was a great student in high school. (Graduated at the top of my class with a 4.2 GPA) I heavily considered it throughout high school as well but for some reason, vet school always just seemed so out of reach, like something I could only ever do in my dreams. So I wrote it off and forgot about it, until now. I've never shadowed a vet but I watch and help them frequently at work. It seems like they do a lot less hands on stuff than the techs do, more paperwork, but they get to use their brain a little more, which appeals to me.