Should I do EMT-B? If so, how?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!
I'm a freshman in college doing pre-med at UGA and aiming for a reputable medical school. One of the major things I'd like to do is become an EMT-B during college. However, I'm not sure if it's worth it or how I should do it.
Here's my situation: I plan on creating a strong medical school-based resume. Good grades and MCAT are a given, research, shadowing, and volunteering are the other components to do. I found that being an EMT would be an interesting, worthwhile way to handle the medicine-related volunteering part of my resume.
I don't mind spending taking classes for it, but would prefer an option that is compatible with my school semester.
However, since it's only a single component of my resume, I don't want it to become too time consuming.
I was thinking I would do a quick course to get it over and done with fast and start working as an EMT around Athens or through the university if possible.
I really would like to do the course and become an EMT, but I don't want it to be such a commitment that my college career is controlled by it. I've heard great things online about people who are EMT's about how fulfilling it is and how much experience it gives.
If you do suggest I do it, how should I go about doing it? Are the 2-3 week courses advisable for what I'm aiming to do? I saw some options online, but have also heard they're usually gimmicks.
Thanks for any advice,
Joe

Members don't see this ad.

I am a huge advocate for EMS, especially a premed who plans to use the certification.