Should I do another fellowship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

masterslug

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good evening fellow SDN posters. This is my first time posting but I need advice.

I just completed a fellowship (my first) in transfusion medicine but have had no luck getting a job (been applying since February). I had a couple of interviews last month and am still waiting to hear back. My question is should I apply to another fellowship or just wait until I get a job offer? I am still applying for jobs so hopefully something works. If I should do another fellowship-how do I find an open position? how late is too late to start a new fellowship (August?)
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Oouch, whoever told you to do Transfusion medicine as a fellowship was insane. You need to give us more info as the poster above says.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks and I should have mentioned that previously. I am AP/CP board certified. Since finishing fellowship a couple of weeks ago, I am job hunting and studying for the transfusion medicine boards. I want to be in academic transfusion medicine but would consider private practice. I am now considering doing a fellowship in surgpath or cytopath but haven't contacted any programs with vacancies.
Right now , I am in limbo and not sure what my next move should be. I was hoping someone had a similar situation and could give me insight. If I do not get a job within the next year, I think doing a fellowship might look better than couch surfing.

My understanding is that the transfusion market has been pretty good, with a dearth of qualified applicants. Most are straight cp trained, and really, as ap/cp you are probably overqualified for most jobs. However, this may be changing now as the word has gotten out about the field.