Should I do a second Bachelors?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Futurecareerinmedicine

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

So I have a bachelors degree in Biology but I had a 2.34 cumulative gpa at my school. I am currently working as a scribe part-time. So I know my gpa is really low but I am working on developing more study habits and I am determined to keep working towards becoming a doctor eventually.

So I found out I was recently accepted to this molecular genetics technology program. Its a bachelors program that will take about two years to complete , consists of 75 credits, and leads to certification in Molecular Biology with ASCP and a degree in molecular genetics technology. I was planning to do this program while scribing part time but now I am having second thoughts about doing this program. Though it is an excellent program at a world renowned cancer center MD Anderson, It is also intense. I noticed that the curriculum consists of 75 hours total and each semester consists of at least 6-7 courses and all of them are either 3000 or 4000 level courses. I have heard that this program is intense and grueling but you do learn a lot. I am nervous because of the workload and I am not sure I will be able to handle it. Also, I am not sure if it makes any logical sense to do a second bachelors. I just dont want to throw myself into this program if im not ready for this. Its not very flexible as everyone takes at least 7 courses. I was going to use this as my DIY post bacc, but now im considering just doing a DIY Post bacc so I will have the flexibility to control how many science classes and make sure im not taking 7 in the beginning..that sounds a little intense to me. Though a lot of the students coming out of the program do get into Medical school. I feel like it is a risk, just like doing the SMP.