Should I apply this cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jenzhang636

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent grad currently taking a gap year.

Info
GPA: 3.76 (from #1 bme major program)
MCAT: have not received scores yet but not confident

Research: 6+ years probably around 3000 hours total (currently working in an Emory lab during gap), no publications, but have presented at my college and international poster sessions, spent a year doing research funded by Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, received an award for my college
Work: student assistant at my college (received award for work)
Clinical: very little experience, trying to get volunteering and shadowing during my gap year

EC: 4 years at a local theater, multiple technical design awards and a lifetime service award

My story: I originally thought that I wanted to apply to just MD programs this year but after I took the MCAT, I had a moment of crisis where I realized that I didn't actually know if I was passionate about medicine. I started researching programs and talked to a couple doctors that I know and am now really interested in MD/PhD programs (I was sorta stuck deciding between med school and research during my undergrad). Right now, I'm waiting on my MCAT scores (took at the end of May) and trying to get some clinical experience so I can see if the hospital environment is for me. Overall, I really confident about wanting to pursue research but not sure if I want to include medicine in that.

I was wondering if I should even bother to apply to programs this cycle since I'm not 100% sure and because my clinical experience is so minimal. I feel like my uncertainty (and lack of clinical experience) would come through in my essays or interviews. But it just seems a shame to wait another year (on top of the current gap year I'm taking) even though I know a year in the long run isn't a big deal.