shadowing- how to go about it

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BornToLead

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So far what I have done is:
- Call up the doctor's office, inform the receptionist that I am a pre-med student looking to shadow Dr. X and if she can give me the fax number, I can send in my resume along with a cover letter; and that she can hand it in to the Doctor.

I have faxed a couple of resumes to different clinics, but the receptionist often ends up giving the letter to the clinic supervisor and when I call them back, she is like oh yeah we will let you know soon :cool:

So far I have had no luck going through this channel. What other ways will you guys recommend. Will going to the clinic personally and giving them my resume myself help give me a positive? But even then, the resume will prolly end up with the clinic supervisor.

Please let me know other ways you have employed to glean shadowing opportunities. PS: I have no doctor contacts and Pre-med club is not an option since they charge students for it at my uni

Members don't see this ad.

Here is what you do:

1. Wait outside the clinic until closing.
2. Follow the doctor home.
3. Confront him or her outside their house and explain that you are a pre-med and admissions is very competitive.
4. ???
5. Shadow him or her.

Reactions: 6 users
Have you asked your personal physician, or those of your parents, or physician parents of friends? Maybe you can set something up for spring break , if you plan to go home. Long hours over a short period of time is acceptable for this particular EC, so finding a gig you can do weekly for the semester isn't obligatory.

Members don't see this ad :)
Here is what you do:
2. Follow the doctor home.

Jeez man I don't want to come across as a neurotic pre-med.