SGU OR SABA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jenniferdamit

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

I need help deciding which option is better in obtaining residency precisely in IM subspecialty in cardiology.
A little brief background about myself-- I am a 24 yr old African American female from Nigeria living in NY.
GPA- 3.24
MCAT Score- 502
No I don't plan on applying to US medical schools or DO because I missed last year application cycle to get in this year (I was originally going for PA switched path 3 months to my graduation last year) so I started studying for the MCAT and took it in September 2016. I don't plan on just waiting around to apply this cycle in the hopes to start next year 2018.
So I just applied to SGU based on the reviews i have been getting from SGU Students and working in one of the largest hospital (NorthWell) on Long Island NY they get a decent amount of SGU student in their residence program and actually do hire a decent amount of SGU grads and a few ROSS and SABA doctors.
I just don't want to fully rely on SGU so if anyone who can share their own personal experience or thoughts I truly will appreciate it.
P.S If you plan on talking me out of Caribbean medical school please keep your comment to yourself. I am fully aware of the pro's and cons on applying there. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Hi

I need help deciding which option is better in obtaining residency precisely in IM subspecialty in cardiology.
A little brief background about myself-- I am a 24 yr old African American female from Nigeria living in NY.
GPA- 3.24
MCAT Score- 502