Sell me on working SNF (PTA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mako47

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I am a new PTA grad working in OP right now. I love OP, but I feel like I cheated myself in rounding my skill set and exp out. I know SNF pays more (want to knock out heavy undergrad student loan debt), but I never have done it or shadowed it. My comfort zone lucked out because I had all of my clinical rotationsin OP. I know it gets a bad rep because pt's are much more difficult to work with. That said, I want to get an idea of how people involved in SNF work it.

I know that sounds silly, but how do you attack the day? What are the pro's and cons?

I interviewed for an SNF job to see the place, but the facility overwhelmed me (the second I walked in, a patient noticed me, I said hi to him, he flipped me off, said "hey f*ck you," and then wheeled away in his wheel chair . . . ) when I went to meet with one of the interviewing PT's. So yeah . . .

Members don't see this ad.

My first internship/rotation in PT school was a SNF and it made me rethink wanting to be a physical therapist. I hated every second of it.

Stay outpatient and get a couple of home health visits per week for extra income.

Reactions: 1 users
Most SNF's suck, but some of them are really good, with short lengths-of-stay, high standards, and good management. SNF's are either great or terrible.

Members don't see this ad :)