Self-Teach Physics for the 2017 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.ATS

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals, just a general question over the physics portion of the new MCAT.

I am currently planning on taking the MCAT in September of this year during the beginning of my junior year (2017). The only pre-requisite classes I have yet to take are Physics I/II. Other than that, I have completed all the major pre-requisites for the MCAT.

I am wondering if self-teaching physics using the Khan academy videos and Kaplan book as a primary resources is feasible while studying the other material? If anyone has self-taught physics, what was your strategy and resources?

If it helps any, here is some of my academic background: I took physics in highschool, and I did marginally well but lack any major retention of concepts other than titles of words. I am generally good at self-study when it comes to biological/chemical/biochemical topics, but I have never self-taught a math related topic.

As of now, I have no conflicts this summer and should be able to devote about 6-10 hours a day of content review in June and early July and begin exam practice mid July through August. Furthermore, I have a fellow student who took his MCAT in September of 2016 to use as a semi-resource for any physic-content related questions.

Thank you all for your help and suggestions! It is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Sure, it's possible. As with other science subjects, the level of detail you need to know for the MCAT will be less than the level of detail you will learn in Physics I/II.

Would recommend the site Hyperphysics; animated videos are also helpful, and there are lots on YouTube. Make sure to do practice problems, without a calculator, with each formula you learn.

Reactions: 1 user
*bump*

I'm pretty much in the same boat. Does anyone else have any input/advice/tips/etc.?