This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bulldogtor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a PGY3 resident in PM&R and I have wanted to do a spinal cord injury (SCI) fellowship for some time now because I feel like I am able to really connect and make a difference in the lives of my patients. I recently started our pediatric rehab medicine (PRM) rotation and I am absolutely loving it. Everyone seems to be happy and making a difference in the life of a child feels amazing. Since I have to decide and apply for a fellowship very soon, I would really like some advice.

Pros of doing an SCI fellowship:
- I feel like I can connect with my patients and make a positive impact. I loved my SCI patients.
- If I am unable to get a job in an academic setting seeing mostly/all SCI patients, I can always get a job in a general rehab hospital.
- More training in procedures for spasticity management.
- Opens the doors to an inpatient SCI attending position.

Cons of doing an SCI fellowship:
- May not increase salary.
- I'll have to move to a different state for one year (since my current program does not have an SCI fellowship).
- If I am really interested in doing inpatient SCI, the positions are mostly at academic hospitals and I am not sure if there is a demand for more attendings.

Pros of doing a PRM fellowship:
- Opens the doors to an inpatient peds attending position.
- I get to work with kids every day. Peds hospitals, the staff and the patients are so uplifting and positive.
- I can still work with patients with SCI, which I love.
- There is a fellowship opportunity in the state where my wife and I would like to settle, though I am unsure how competitive it is and there is no guarantee I will match to that fellowship (and get a job there afterwards).

Cons of doing a PRM fellowship: