Running a business during college as a pre-medical student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ethereum

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
During my time as a undergrad which ended this past May, I graduated with a 2.69 uGPA, co-owner and president of a $1.3M media company, one research publication as second author, and scored a 510 on my MCAT.

considering my low GPA, i'm quite curious how my extracurriculars and research help me. During my time in school, I would be traveling from NY to SF / LA nearly weekly and still doing research on social behavior in mice after treatment as well as the neurological impact. I did some clinical volunteering as well. My grades suffered as a result.

I'm wondering if I should highlight this in my essay and what people think my chances are at DO / MD after I retake a few classes this fall.

Members don't see this ad.

With <3.0 most won't even open your app to find anything else out. I'm sorry

Reactions: 1 user
So you're saying that you focused on your career more than school? Why would any AdCom look at your app and see someone committed to med school when you weren't even committed to undergrad?

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I was committed but became unsure and matured since then, I am essentially wondering if so retake some classes and prove myself would I have a shot considering a did fairly well on the MCAT, sold my business to pursue medicine, done substantial research, etc.

Sub 3.0 means they're not even going to look at the application.

Some SMP will, but that's a tough, unsure, expensive road when you're already in a decent spot.

You'd have to get above a 3.0 to even be considered for a lot of schools. You may even need an SMP beyond that.

I'm sure any SMP/Med school would want to see that you've divested yourself of your other responsibilities before you started a program there.