Residency Shortage 2017

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Adam Smasher

APMA Seal of Approval
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Coming back after a long hiatus. Four years ago, I received the news that I didn't match and would begin my long and arduous year as a reapplicant. I did match on my second go around, into a very solid program too, and I have some reasonably nice prospects waiting for me afterwards. So it's possible (but not easy) to get over the hump.

The reason I'm posting now is that the worst year for the residency shortage was the year I graduated, 2013, but it wasn't really in anyone's forecast until about 2010, and it hit a lot of us by surprise. I'm curious how a lot of current students thought about the shortage throughout school. Did you know about it? Did you know before you applied or did you find out after you started in school? Was/is going unmatched a concern, or do you feel like the odds are good enough that you don't need to worry?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Welcome back / glad things worked out for you. I read your posts with interest during the last fiasco. I didn't know how bad this year was until I saw the stats posting. *Cringe* That's essentially a school worth of unmatched kids.

The way it was sold to me (a 1st year) when applying were various forms of the same two sentiments:
1) 'We know about it, working on it, and it won't be a concern when you graduate' and
2) 'You don't have to worry about that, just work hard and don't be in the bottom 10% of your class!'

I know that part 1 is partially true (the working on it bit) and part 2 is also partially true. I have heard stories of decently competitive graduates not matching.