Residency and mental health issues

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posted for a member

"I am a resident in good standing at the moment but am struggling immensely with some mental health issues. My home life and work life are suffering tremendously. I am getting professional help but am not improving much as work duties just don't leave much time for meetings. These issues are partly due to the fact that I am quite sure I chose the wrong specialty but there are some other deep issues that I am trying to work through as well. I could try to jump ship to another specialty asap (have one or two in mind) and hope that I make a good decision, but I'm really nervous about this as I'm just not confident at all in my decision making right now. The other option would be to talk to my PD (very supportive) and take a leave (medical?) to seriously and intensively work through my mental health issues so I can be healthy and think more clearly. I'm obviously really concerned about my future medical career if I take a leave of absence - how will this affect my chances at matching again if I do decide to change fields? Does anyone have any experience or advice on this issue? Thank you."

Members don't see this ad.

There aren't any easy answers here, which I'm sure you know.

The prime question to assess is whether your mental health / personal issues are affecting your work performance. From your question, you suggest that you feel that you are not performing well -- but the question is whether program leaders and your supervisors have the same opinion. Sometimes, mental health issues make you feel like you're not doing well, when in fact you actually are.