This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

darwin415

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm an upcoming third year vet student very interested in pursuing a residency in anatomic pathology. I am just getting my bearings in terms of how it all works and where I should begin to look and apply in the future. I would love to get an idea of where I'm looking so I can start looking into externships at the places I would be interested in doing a residency!

I also just learned that many programs are combined with a PhD, which is something I don't really want to commit to. I think I am more interested in diagnostics or industry than research and definitely want to love what I'm doing if I'm going to be committing so much of my time and effort to this! I also have very little research background and not too much interest in amending that - I would love to get involved with some research during my residency but don't want to have too large a focus in it as I just don't think that's where I want to go with my career.

Can anyone give me any advice or intel about the best programs to look into that do not require a joint PhD? I would love to get a better idea about the field and the different dynamics and reputations at different institutions.

Thanks so much! I'm new here and excited to start having conversations with people in the field :)

Members don't see this ad.

American College of Veterinary Pathologists - Training Programs

American College of Veterinary Pathologists - Externship Opportunities

American College of Veterinary Pathologists - Training Center