Research in Machine Learning & Artificial Intelligence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sudo

Señor Member
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, this might be a long shot but I wanted to at least give it a shot...

I'm a 3rd year med student interested in diagnostic radiology. I have a extensive/published background in computer programming and informatics. I'm interested in developing machine learning algorithms for different needs in radiology (including image recognition/classification).

It would be great if I could get involved in some research in this field but I'm not sure where to start with looking for places that are researching in these fields and willing to let a med student help out. Any tips for me would be much appreciated - thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi sudo (nice username by the way), I was a software developer before medical school and I'm applying this year for residency in radiology. I'm a big proponent of machine learning in radiology. What I would suggest is finding a mentor and/or a summer project with someone who is well-known in the field. One of my mentors was Dr. Daniel Rubin at Stanford. He's a radiologist who publishes a truly enormous number of radiology informatics papers. You could send him a cold email explaining who you are and offer to provide free programming work. He likes to interview people before bringing them onboard, but if you have a solid resume and are willing to work for free, he'll likely welcome you. Then you could try and arrange a summer project with him.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)