Relationship advice??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SXMMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm an FM resident (well, intern this coming July), my significant other is an M4 who really, really wants to pursue residency in OBGYN. She is very passionate about the field. The program I am at is an unopposed FM program and for her to pursue any residency she and I will have to spend some time away from each other.

We understand that and I am committed to seeing her through her training, as she is in seeing me through mine, however I am a little tentative about her specialty choice. My (limited) experience with OB has shown me that having a stable family life can be tough. We would like to settle down one day and start our own family, and the idea of living this rushed family life (constantly struggling to coordinate work schedules, involving a nanny in the upbringing of the kids, not getting alone time with the spouse, etc) bothers me a little.

I didn't want to dissuade my partner from pursuing the specialty of her choice, but wanted to be tactful in bringing up my concerns with her. Before I do that I wanted to hear from actual OBGYN's about some of the challenges faced in relationships and family life and ways to go about mitigating some of those challenges. Can you help a brother out with some advice and things to consider going forward?

Just a heads up, we are not yet married (or engaged), though that discussion has been on the table.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!

I'm an FM resident (well, intern this coming July), my significant other is an M4 who really, really wants to pursue residency in OBGYN. She is very passionate about the field. The program I am at is an unopposed FM program and for her to pursue any residency she and I will have to spend some time away from each other.