refinancing student loans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chelsea FC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am just starting (today) on my journey on becoming more financially knowledgeable actually just purchased the white coat investor and will dedicate some time on this site to learn all the terminology etc.
I am just writing to seek a little advice, I was a international student here for most of undergrad before getting my green card due to that I have amassed over $80,000 in college student loan dept (3 loans at Navient and 1 at sallie mae) all private loans with interest rates ranging from 7% to 11% on my loans . I am wondering if it would be a good idea to refinance my loans to a lower rate so I dont end up paying more money at the end of 4 years of medicals school + residency. Is it possible to refinance private loans and what negatives could come from me doing so and what companies should I look at when planning on refinancing .
Thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Holy crap 80k just from undergrad??!

Hi guys, I am just starting (today) on my journey on becoming more financially knowledgeable actually just purchased the white coat investor and will dedicate some time on this site to learn all the terminology etc.
I am just writing to seek a little advice, I was a international student here for most of undergrad before getting my green card due to that I have amassed over $80,000 in college student loan dept (3 loans at Navient and 1 at sallie mae) all private loans with interest rates ranging from 7% to 11% on my loans . I am wondering if it would be a good idea to refinance my loans to a lower rate so I dont end up paying more money at the end of 4 years of medicals school + residency. Is it possible to refinance private loans and what negatives could come from me doing so and what companies should I look at when planning on refinancing .
Thanks all!